Server44 vs Just The Tips: Tip Tracker
Just The Tips: Tip Tracker has logged shifts since 2015, on an email account with ads. See how it compares with Server44 on tax estimates and tip-outs.
Disclosure: Server44 is our app. This comparison is written honestly, including the places where Just The Tips is the better fit. Ratings and pricing are from the US App Store as of September 2026.
Quick answer
Just The Tips: Tip Tracker by Twin Oaks Technologies, LLC, listed on the App Store under the developer byline www.justthetips.com and written “Just the Tips” in its own description, has been on the store since 2015 and holds 4.54 from 3,000 US ratings. It logs cash and credit tips, tip-outs, hours and sales, then feeds a reporting system the developer rebuilt in October 2025. The catch is that it needs an email sign-up, and its age rating carries a Contains Advertising annotation.
Server44 logs cash and card tips per shift, splits tip-outs by template or percentage, and shows estimated net income with federal and state tax calculations. It is free to download, with no account required, and a Pro tier that adds unlimited jobs and longer insight windows.
If you want configurable reports and cloud backup that follows you to a new phone, Just The Tips: Tip Tracker. If you want a tax estimate and no account at all, Server44.
Side-by-side
| Feature | Server44 | Just The Tips: Tip Tracker |
|---|---|---|
| Platforms | iOS + Android | iOS + Android |
| US App Store rating | 4.91 (23 ratings) | 4.54 (3,019 ratings) |
| Last updated | August 2026 | July 2026 on iOS, May 2026 on Android |
| Free-tier limits | Free to download; Pro adds unlimited jobs and 90-day and 365-day insights. The free job count is not stated. | Free to download and log shifts. Premium gates at least some reports, per the June 2026 release note. |
| Paid plans | Pro is $2.99 a week or $29.99 a year, with a one-time $19.99 introductory offer. 7-day trial. | Two entries both named “Premium”, at $1.99 and $19.99. No billing period stated, no trial stated. |
| Tip logging | Yes, cash and card after every shift | Yes, “track all your tipped income with ease” |
| Cash vs card split | Yes | Yes, cash and credit tips |
| Tip-out handling | Yes, templates for bartender, busser, host, kitchen, runner, bar back, expo; percent of sales added August 2026 | Yes, fixed percentage, by sales, or manual |
| Hourly wage and take-home | Yes, hours and wage per shift, true hourly rate after tip-outs | Yes for hourly pay and shift hours; no take-home figure is named on the listing |
| Tax estimate | Yes, estimated net income with federal and state calculations | Not stated |
| Multiple jobs | Yes, unlimited on Pro | Yes, multiple workplaces and custom settings per role |
| Reports and charts | Yes, 7 and 30-day windows free, 90 and 365-day on Pro | Yes, configurable reports, cash vs credit, heat maps; 12 modules added October 2025 |
| Cloud backup | Not stated | Yes, “secure cloud backup” |
| Export | Yes, PDF, CSV, text summary, quick share | Yes, “export your data anytime”; no format named |
| Languages | 39 | 31; 7 described as fully localized in the 1.6.30 notes, April 2026 |
| Ads | Pro lists an “ad-free experience”; the age rating carries no advertising annotation | Yes, the age rating carries “Contains Advertising” |
| Account required | No, works offline | Yes, email sign-up |
| Data stays on device | Yes, stored on the phone with no account | No, account plus cloud backup |
| Privacy label | One section, Data Not Linked to You, covering Third-Party Advertising, Analytics, and App Functionality | Device ID used to track you, plus Contact Info, Identifiers, Usage Data and Diagnostics linked to you |
Where Just The Tips: Tip Tracker wins
The reports go deeper than ours. The description promises reports that combine or filter data however you like, comparing tips by day, month, job, or year, with cash versus credit and heat maps to visualize performance by section. Version 1.6.26 in October 2025 replaced the reporting system with 12 new modules, and 1.6.27 put the monthly bar chart back after users asked for it. One caveat: a June 2026 note mentions previewing Premium Reports, so at least part of that system sits behind the purchase even though the description never says so.
Cloud backup and a real track record. Just The Tips has been on the App Store since 2015 and advertises secure cloud backup tied to the email account you sign up with. Server44 says nothing about backup, sync, or restoring to a new phone in either direction. If your worry is losing three years of shifts when your phone dies, that is a genuine reason to pick theirs. Reviews are not unanimous that it delivers: lost data is a recurring complaint, though every report of it in our sample predates the current version.
Three ways to handle a tip-out, and roles beyond restaurants. The listing offers tip-outs as a fixed percentage, by sales, or entered manually. Custom settings per role name server, bartender, host, hairdresser, valet, dog walker, and casino dealer, so the app is not shaped only around a restaurant floor.
Shift detail and search. The description lists shift notes, covers, and sales on every entry, a customizable week start day, and weekly pay structure support. Version 1.6.25 in August 2025 added the ability to search for shifts. Reviewers say it is simple and fast, mostly in four- and five-star reviews, and reviewers say the payoff is finally seeing what they actually make per hour.
Where Server44 wins
A tax estimate, which Just The Tips does not claim. Server44’s description lists estimated net income with federal and state tax calculations, and a US and non-US tax rules toggle was added in version 1.0.5, March 2026. The words tax, IRS and deduction appear nowhere in Just The Tips’ description, release notes, or 25 version-history entries. If you are trying to work out what actually lands in your account, that gap matters.
No account, and the data stays on the phone. Server44 says no account is required and that it works offline. Just The Tips requires an email sign-up, and its privacy label declares Device ID used to track you across apps and websites owned by other companies, plus Contact Info, Identifiers, Usage Data and Diagnostics linked to your identity. Server44’s label has one section, Data Not Linked to You, and no Data Used to Track You section at all.
Tip-outs built around what servers actually owe. Pre-built templates cover bartender, busser, host, kitchen, food runner, bar back, and expo, taken as a percentage from cash, card, or both, with a per-job rule set. Version 1.0.10 in August 2026 added tip-out as a percent of sales, daily sales logging, and a tip-percent-of-sales figure on the day detail.
Export formats are named, and the extras are there. Server44 exports PDF, CSV, a full text summary, and a quick share for texting a total; Just The Tips says only that you can export your data anytime and names no file format. Server44 also lists a home screen widget with a weekly tips bar chart, added March 2026, per-job daily reminders, pay-period goals added May 2026, and 39 languages against 31.
Pricing
- Server44 is free to download, and the description presents tip logging, cash and card split, tip-outs, multiple jobs, calendar, export, and reminders without a tier label. Pro adds unlimited jobs, 90-day and 365-day insights, and an ad-free experience, with a 7-day trial. Pro is $2.99 a week or $29.99 a year, with a one-time $19.99 introductory offer.
- Just The Tips: Tip Tracker is free to download and log shifts, and its description lists every feature with no tier label attached. The store lists two in-app purchases, both named “Premium”, at $1.99 and $19.99. Neither entry states a billing period. What Premium adds is not spelled out on the store page; a November 2024 release note says a purchase removes ads, and a June 2026 note refers to Premium Reports.
Server44 Pro is $29.99 for a year, or $19.99 on its one-time introductory offer, and the entry is labeled annual. Just The Tips lists Premium at $1.99 and $19.99, and neither entry says how long it lasts.
Which one should you pick?
Pick Just The Tips: Tip Tracker if you want reports you can slice by day, month, job, or year, you want cloud backup tied to an account so a new phone is not a fresh start, and you would rather have a listing on the store since 2015 and 3,000 ratings than a newer app. Budget for the ads, or for the purchase that removes them.
Pick Server44 if you want an estimate of what you keep after federal and state tax, you do not want to hand over an email address, and your tip-out is a percentage of sales or a stack of roles you owe every night.
If you want to run the numbers before you install anything, our free tip-out calculator and tips per hour calculator do the same math in the browser, with no download and no sign-up.
Frequently asked questions
Is Just The Tips: Tip Tracker free?
It is free to download and its description calls it a free app, but the store page carries a Contains Advertising annotation and two in-app purchases both named Premium, listed at $1.99 and $19.99. Neither entry states a billing period, and what Premium adds is not spelled out on the store page. Server44 is also free to download, with a Pro tier the description says unlocks unlimited jobs, 90-day and 365-day insights, and an ad-free experience.
Does Just The Tips: Tip Tracker show ads?
Yes. Its US App Store age rating carries the annotation Contains Advertising, and its Google Play listing is flagged as containing ads. Release notes date the arrival: a single ad on the shift page in version 1.6.9, October 2024, then a note in 1.6.16, November 2024, adding an option to remove ads. Server44 sells an ad-free experience as part of Pro, and its age rating carries no advertising annotation.
Does Just The Tips: Tip Tracker estimate taxes on tips?
Not stated. The words tax, IRS and deduction do not appear in its App Store description, release notes, or version history. Server44's description lists estimated net income with federal and state tax calculations, and a US and non-US tax rules toggle was added in version 1.0.5, March 2026.
Do I need an account to use Just The Tips: Tip Tracker?
Yes. The description says to sign up with your email to start tracking, and the privacy label collects Contact Info for App Functionality. The listing also advertises secure cloud backup. Server44's description says no account is required and that it works offline, with all data stored on the phone.
Which app has more ratings, Server44 or Just The Tips: Tip Tracker?
Just The Tips: Tip Tracker, by a wide margin. It holds 4.54 from 3,000 US App Store ratings against Server44's 4.91 from 23. On Google Play the gap narrows in count but flips in score: 4.8 from 122 reviews for Just The Tips: Tip Tracker, 4.6 from 16 for Server44. Read the 4.91 next to the 23.
Can both apps track more than one job?
Yes. Just The Tips: Tip Tracker says it is built for people with one or even multiple jobs and offers custom settings per role, naming server, bartender, host, hairdresser, valet, dog walker, and casino dealer. Server44 lets you create and switch between jobs with separate wages and tip-out rules, and lists unlimited jobs under Pro. Server44's free job limit is not stated on its listing.